When you wish upon a star,
Makes no difference who you are,
When you wish upon a star,
Your dreams come true…

At the risk of revealing too much about me I have a candid admission: the above song makes me cry; it makes me nostalgic; and it makes me happy. I think that most people have a fondness for Disney. I have never walked down Main Street Disney in any of the Parks anywhere in the world and felt bad. The postmodern creation of a world that is better than the real thing is an achievement in the sense of it being the manufacture of human happiness-albeit temporal. The music, the setting, the smells of candy floss and pop corn mixed with the palpable sense of a fantasy world takes the mortal soul to a world of anthropomorphic giddiness and old-fashioned wholesome goodness. Trust me-it can cure the worst hangovers known to man (and woman) and it can relieve all of the myriad stresses of the world in a simple five minute stroll.

The stanza  which I posted above tells you about my own favourite Disney character-Pinocchio. I loved the Pinocchio story as originally written by Carlo Collodi in 1863 but I particularly love (deliberately present tense) the Disney adaptation of the original tale as released in 1940 and only this year released on DVD.

What is it about Pinocchio and the Disney cartoon that attracts and fascinates me? It is the sheer magic. It is after all a story about the triumph of good over evil. It is a discourse on the most fundamental tenets of human trust. It extols the virtues of honesty, even when honesty hurts and cuts deep. It examines the frailties of the human condition. It is a story of adventure. It is the depiction of an epic journey with the happy ending it deserves. It is a roller-coaster of all the emotions associated with love and belonging. It never plateaus. It never asks of us the ordinary. Each character and each twist of the tale just further embroider in some little unique way the richness of it all and the richness of the human condition.

It is the soundtrack though which maketh the movie! The songs and their carefully composed, choreographed and orchestrated tempos in a sense form the structure on which the aforementioned emotional roller-coaster is constructed. The music may indeed actually be the very material used in the construction-but you get where I am going with this. Music in any sense reflects mood it and can often unexpectedly take the mind and heart to places as equally unexpected. Often as I take the daily train journey to and from work I set my ipod to shuffle and the odyssey of emotion becomes something akin to an emotional safari. On other occasions I look for and select a particular piece of music on which to position my emotional well-being at that particular time.

Off late I have sought out with worrying frequency my Pinocchio soundtrack and in particular ‘When You Wish Upon a Star’. I find safety and comfort there. It stops the emotional turmoil momentarily and halts the roller-coaster while I reflect and take stock. It takes me on the traditional and stereotypical dizzying climb and builds a sense of excitement and exhilaration and then the journey resumes a life of its own as it thunders downwards, loops-the-loop and commences upwards again. When the music ends and I finally come to rest I find the answer…usually. I might again have perspective and maybe once more gain a grip on that which is most important to me. It reminds me of that famous T.S. Eliot quote: ‘You are the music while the music lasts.’

Whatever eventuates however, I hope to hear the soundtrack play for a little while longer…what is that sound that drifts towards me…?

