…so folks, I have told you that I am a big fan of Family Guy; well there is a particular episode in which Peter gets a slot on the local news show, where he rants about those things that ‘grind his gears’! Anyway, as you also know I take the Enterprise to Dublin daily – not the Star Trek one silly – the north-south train…though come to think of it, it can be an unexpected adventure from time to time! Over this last 10 months I have made many friends on the train, mostly from the bunch who join at Newry so I exempt all my friends from the rant which now follows:

I suppose I should really explain what has prompted this particular blog entry.  I was on my way home on the 7pm train a little while ago. I was listening to music on my iPhone and relaxing and reflecting on life when I suddenly started to tense up as a consequence of just looking at the guy sitting opposite me. He was suited up but hunched over with a stressed out and manic look. He kept pulling a copy of The Irish Times over his head like a scarf and every minute or so he would pull down hard on it as if trying to force his head through the little table.  I thought to myself that this guy looks like he is ready to produce an automatic weapon and take care of everybody around him. Maybe the poor guy had just received bad news. Maybe he had just been fired or made redundant or dumped by his significant other (please note – not categorised by the severity of the bad news received!) or something serious or hey, maybe he was just weird and exhibiting his full range of idiosyncrasies for my benefit. Maybe I was annoying him in some way? I always have to allow for that possibility…

Anyway that got me thinking about the people I see on the train on a regular basis. In fairness, most people are civil, or mind their own business or work or read papers and generally don’t do anything that would draw attention to themselves or which could be regarded as irksome but then you know there are always the few…

To be continued!

