Hello World! Welcome to my blog. This is my first foray into the apparently exciting world of blogging. I am really looking forward to this. I should maybe tell you a little bit about me first. I am the Dean of the School of Business at  National College of Ireland. I arrived here from the University of Liverpool in September 2008, where I spent the last six years as Professor of Entrepreneurship. My arrival in Dublin coincided with the sharp economic downturn but don’t blame me for today’s budget please! I used work in retail in Dublin in the 80’s but the economic downturn sent me on greater mission of which the latest chapter has really only just begun. Somebody quipped to me yesterday that An Taoiseach should pay me to leave the country as my presence precipitates recession but that would just amount to an Offaly man resenting Tyrone’s recent success in all things sporting.

Did I mention already that I am from Tyrone-the land of Ricey and trial by Setanta Television? (That Galvan’s a light weight by the way!) They are a bitter bunch on Setanta and the ultimate irony being that great Setanta himself was a good Ulster man! So my first love is Tyrone; that means my second love must be Manchester United; well I just love success…I don’t expect any Scousers will be bombarding me with love and kisses.

I intend to use this blog to talk about many things: I will of course muse on life and all of the trials and tribulations of same; and I will of course comment on sport, politics, the economy and education. On good days I will even subject you to my poetry. I will of course also talk about life at the National College of Ireland and let you know what we are up to and share with you the pains and joys of my decanal duties. They are myriad!

